Click here to learn more about our 2017 Summit Scholarships!

In partnership with like-minded organizations, we offer Member-only Scholarships throughout the year.
Congratulations to the 2016 Chefs Collaborative and Niman Ranch Scholars! 

michelle LarryLeibowitz Nathan2
KristianNiemi Paulreilly

In partnership with Niman Ranch, we are thrilled to offer a Members-only Scholarship for chefs to participate in the Niman Ranch Hog Farmer Appreciation Weekend. Congratulations to the 2016 Chefs Collaborative and Niman Ranch Scholars Michelle Lainez (Border Grill, CA), Larry Leibowitz (Bambolina, MA; Chefs Collaborative Local Leader), Nathan Morgan (Pine Street Kitchen, OR), Kristian Niemi (Bourbon, SC; Chefs Collaborative Local Leader), Paul Reilly (beast + bottle, CO). These five chefs and our Executive Director Holly Haddad will travel Iowa with Chefs Collaborative and Niman Ranch from August 25-27th, tour Alderland Farm, learn about responsible animal husbandry, and participate in a special dinner celebrating Niman Ranch hog farmers. Follow their adventure on social media with #ChangeMenusChangeLives

2016 Chefs Collaborative Summit Scholars

More than 70 chefs and students applied for our 2016 Chefs Collaborative Summit Scholarship. The below Scholars traveled to New York City with us and participated in the 7th Annual Chefs Collaborative Summit April 10-12th, 2016. Congratulations! #ChangeMenusChangeLives

  • Austin Bailey, Wesley Acres Retirement, IA
  • Clark Barlowe, Heirloom Restaurant, NC
  • Laura Cole, 229 Parks Restaurant, AK
  • William Flumerfelt, Community Servings, Share Our Strength, MA
  • Isaac Johnson, Bon Vivant, FL
  • David Johnson, Rhode Island School of Design, RI
  • Christopher Kleyla, Red Strip Brasserie, RI
  • Terry Koval, Wrecking Bar Brewpub, GA
  • Travis Maier, La Soupe, OH
  • Joe Melanson, Newport Restaurant Group, RI
  • Kyle Mendenhall, CO
  • Lamar Moore, The Smoke Daddy, IL
  • Jeff Osaka, Osaka Ramen, CO
  • Shanna Pacifico, Extra Fancy, NY
  • Kyle Roberts, Bouquet Restaurant and Wine Bar, KY
  • Jessica Wilson, Dear Bushwick, NY

Screen Shot 2016-01-25 at 8.33.19 AM

2015 Niman Ranch Scholars
Six Member chefs traveled with us to Iowa at the end of September to tour Alderland Farm and participate in the 2015 Niman Ranch Hogfarmer Appreciation Weekend.

  • Anthony Fassio (Great Performances, NY)
  • Eric Gabrynowicz (Restaurant North, Market North, NY)
  • Brian Goodman (The Greenhouse Tavern, OH)
  • Nicole Pederson (Found Kitchen, IL)
  • Laura Rowland (Patagonia, CA)
  • Cathy Whims (Nostrana, Oven & Shaker, Hamlet, OR)

2015 Chefs Collaborative and Bristol Bay Scholar
Member chef William Dissen of The Marketplace in Asheville, NC received the 2015 Chefs Collaborative and Bristol Bay Regional Seafood Development Association Scholarship. He traveled to Bristol Bay, Alaska to tour fishing communities and  learn about Bristol Bay’s wild, sustainable sockeye salmon fishery. You can read more about his “epic” adventure in the Asheville Mountain Xpress

2015 Chefs Collaborative and Natural Gourmet Institute Scholar
Member chef Paul Reilly of beast + bottle in Denver, Colorado received the 2015 Chefs Collaborative and Natural Gourmet Institute Scholarship. He traveled with us to New York and participated in NGI’s Sustainable Meat Certificate Program. He spent 10 days with NGI in New York City, learned about sustainable meat fabrication techniques, and meet with chefs and food professionals from across the country.  

“It was an honor to receive this Scholarship, and I made connections that will last a lifetime, working and networking with chefs and industry professionals from some of New York’s best restaurants.”

2014 Chefs Collaborative Summit Scholars

  • Ben Cantone (Tallulah’s Taqueria, RI)
  • Ed Crouse (Bakery ATL, GA)
  • Jaret Foster (Portland Farmers Market, OR)
  • David Gould (RISD, RI)
  • Ari Kolender (Leon’s Fine Poultry & Oyster Shop, SC)
  • Matt Louis (Moxy, NH)
  • Stephen Mancini (Restaurant North, Market North, NY)
  • Brett McClavy (The Cheese Shop, IA)
  • Samuel Monsour (CA)
  • Tobie Robinson (Parsnips, CO)
  • Nathan Turner (Boone Tavern Hotel & Restaurant, KY)

2014 Chefs Collaborative and Niman Ranch Scholars

  • Jason Bond (Bondir, MA)
  • Laura Heinlein (Grand Central Bakery, WA)
  • David LeFevre (MB Post, CA)
  • Peter McCarthy (EVOO, Za, MA)
  • Steve Phelps (Indigenous, FL
  • Kelly Whitaker (Basta, Cart-Driver, CO)

2013 Chefs Collaborative Summit Scholars

  • Kristi Brown Wokoma (That Brown Girl Cooks, WA)
  • Katie Carey (NY)
  • William Dissen (The Market Place Restaurant, NC)
  • Asha Gomez (Cardamom Hill, GA)
  • Jay Pierce (Lucky 32, NC)
  • Mary Reilly (Edible Pioneer Valley, MA)
  • Mark Segal (Tinios Hospitality Group, NH)
  • Eric Skokan (Black Cat Bistro, CO)
  • Champe Speidel (Persimmon, RI)
  • Brendan Vesey (Joinery, NH)
  • Kelly Whitaker (Basta, Cart-Driver, CO)

2013 Chefs Collaborative and Niman Ranch Scholars

  • James Briscione (Institue for Culinary Education, NY)
  • Ann Cooper (Chef Ann Foundation, CO)
  • Sara Curtis-Fawley (Pacific Pie Company, OR)
  • Paul Fehribach (Big Jones, IL)
  • Jim Gallivan (Art Institute of Atlanta, GA)
  • Drew Hedlund (Fleet Landing, SC)
  • Bruce Ozga (Johnson and Wales, FL)
  • Deborah Scarborough (Black Cat Bistro, CA)
  • Derek Wagner (Nicks on Broadway, RI)
  • Matt Weingarten (Dig Inn Seasonal Market, NY)

2012 Chefs Collaborative Summit Scholars

  • Valerie Broussard (V. Broussard Consulting, TX)
  • Michael Carmel (Culinary Institute of Charleston, SC)
  • Mike Lata (FIG, The Ordinary, SC)
  • Clara Moore (Knife for Hire Picnic Foods, WA)
  • Michael Scelfo (Alden & Harlow, MA)
  • Beau Vestal (New Rivers Bistro, RI)


Contact us: